2008 Aurora Award finalists

Best Long-Form Work in English:

As Fate Decrees by Denysé Bridger (EDGE Publishing)

New Moon’s Arms by Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central Publishing)

The Moon Under Her Feet by Derwin Mak (Windstorm Creative)

Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer (Tor/Analog)

Cry Wolf by Edo van Belkom (McClelland & Stewart)


Best Long-Form Work in French:

Alegracia et les Xayiris by Dominic Bellavance (Les Six Brumes)

La-haut sur la Colline by Claude Bolduc (Solaris)

Cimetière du musée by Diane Boudreau (du Phoenix)

Le Parasite by Georges LaFontaine (Guy Saint-Jean)

Arielle Queen by Michel J. Lévesque (Les Intouchables)


Best Short-Form Work in English:

“Falling” by David Clink (On Spec)

“Saturn in G Minor” by Stephen Kotowych (Writers of the Future XXIII)

“Metamorphoses in Amber” by Tony Pi (Abyss & Apex)

“The Dancer at the Red Door” by Douglas Smith (Under Cover of Darkness)

“Like Water in the Desert” by Hayden Trenholm (Challenging Destiny)


Best Short-Form Work in French:

“Le Luthier” by Mathieu Fortin (Solaris)

“Les Lucioles d’Alliante” by Michèle Laframboise (QUAD9)

“L’Ancienne famille” by Michel J. Lévesque (Les Six Brumes)

“Le sang noir” by Michel J. Lévesque (Solaris)

“Sur la plage des Èpaves” by Laurent MacAllister (Solaris)


Best Work in English (Other):

Polaris: A Celebration of Polar Science edited by Julie E. Czerneda (Star Ink)

Under Cover of Darkness edited by Julie E. Czerneda & Jana Paniccia (DAW)

Tesseracts Eleven edited by Cory Doctorow and Holly Phillips (Edge)

Neo-opsis edited by Karl Johanson

On Spec Magazine edited by Diane Walton


Best Work in French (Other): No nominations.


Artistic Achievement:

Lar deSouza (for On Spec Winter 2000; Parsec Spring/Summer 2007)

Ronn Sutton Elvira (for Mistress of the Dark #165-166)

Stephanie Ann Johanson (for Neo-opsis #11 interior illustrations)

Jean-Pierre NormandMartin Springett


Fan Achievement (Fanzine): Dale Spiers for Opuntia


Fan Achievement (Organizational):

Debbie Hodgins (KAG)

Penny Lipman (Masquerades)

Roy Miles (IDIC)

Joan Sherman (IDIC)

Geoffrey Toop (DWIN)


Fan Achievement (Other):

Paul Bobbitt (editor of The Voyageur)

Judith Hayman (filk performances)

Peggy Warner LaLonde (filk performances)

Martin Springett (filk performances)

Larry Stewart (MC)


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s